Cheesecake!

4 Mar
Cheesecake! by mysandrasdaughter
Cheesecake! a photo by mysandrasdaughter on Flickr.

My first attempt at baking a cheesecake. I researched blog after blog until I gained enough confidence to try it. I used Barefoot Contessa’s recipe for the cake – while borrowing tips from other bloggers and I am pleased at the way it turned out.

My deviations are listed below:

1. Used more cracker crumbs, butter, and sugar for the crust – because we know it is ALL about the crust (for me anyway lol)

2. Baked in a water bath to ensure proper moisture content… or something like that.

3. Reserved 1/4 of the batter for mini cheesecakes that I baked in muffin tins – her recipe makes a wholelotta batter.

Strawberry Topping:

1 pint of strawberries
1 cup of sugar
1 tsp of vanilla

Simmer strawberries with sugar in small saucepan over med-low heat. When the sugar melts and berries begin to loosen up I removed 1/2 of strawberries and pureed in food processor – added them back to the mixture and let it simmer until desired consistency is achieved. Chill

2 Responses to “Cheesecake!”

  1. brdavision March 30, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    ok I’m definitely going to ask my wife to make this recipe!

  2. 404momi April 23, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Great! Let me know how it turns out šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

